Certificate Application Process

Application Process for A Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity

Persons wishing to start a taxicab company within Clark County must make application to the State of Nevada Taxicab Authority, by submitting a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN). The Packet (found below) contains the certificate application, the personal history forms, instructions and questionnaires the applicant will need.

After completing the application, the applicant(s) must return the original application, nine (9) copies of the application and all exhibits to the Taxicab Authority Office to be filed. The filing fee is $200.00.  This is non-refundable.

Upon receipt and investigation of the application, the Taxicab Authority notifies interested and/or affected parties through the press by paid publication allowing approximately thirty (30) days for protests to be filed with the Taxicab Authority. Then a Public Hearing will be noticed and held by the Taxicab Authority.

The applicant will be responsible for the total cost of the Administrative process. The cost includes all transportation, food and lodging, plus an hourly charge for the time expended by the investigator or investigator s assigned to the application. Before the background investigation can begin, the applicant must provide a deposit of half of the estimated administrative process. An hourly expense will be charged at $25.00 per hour for the time expended while the investigator(s) are engaged in the actual investigation process.

The entire process can take anywhere from six months to one year.

Please review sections of the Nevada Revised Statutes and the Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 706 pertaining to ownership and operation of a taxicab company for additional information.

Additionally, please ensure your business has fulfilled the requirements established by the State by registering with the following agencies: