Driver Permit Requirements
- A referral form (form approved by the Taxicab Authority) from a taxicab company in Clark County prior to applying for a permit.
- A completed "AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION", which will be supplied to the applicant by the taxicab company.
Applicant must submit physician’s certificate with two copies, from a physician who is licensed to practice medicine in the State of Nevada (M.D. or D.O.). The physician shall issue the certificate if they find that a prospective driver meets health requirements established by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation 49 C.F.R. §391.41-391.49. NRS 706.8842, NAC 706.519.
Applicant must have a valid Nevada Drivers License issued under NRS 483.325 which authorizes him to operate a motor vehicle in the State of Nevada.
- Must be a resident of Nevada for thirty (30) days before applying for a permit.
Addresses of ALL residences for the last three (3) years.
List the last place of employment, position or occupation.
List history of ALL convictions and pending court cases.
- The Nevada Taxicab Authority requires proof the applicant can read and orally communicate in the English language (NRS 706.8841(1)(b)(2)) by way of passing an electronic test.
- Permit applications must be completed by the applicant, in the Taxicab Authority office, and are not allowed to be taken from the premises.
- Applicant will be scheduled for an electronic test after completion of the application. Upon passing the test, the applicant must pay a $40.00 fee to the Taxicab Authority, in order to complete the permit process.
- Applicantis required to submit a complete set of his/her fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Administrator to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to ascertain whether the applicant has a criminal record, and the nature of any such record. There is a $51.25 fee for this service. Total $91.25 = $40.00 application fee + $51.25 fingerprint fee.
- Applicant must complete and sign a form regarding child support status. NRS425.520.
- Applicant must attend and complete the Driver’s Awareness Program (DAP). This class is held each Tuesday & Thursday (except on State holidays) from 7:45 am to 5:00 pm.
Reasons for Refusal to Issue Permit
The Administrator may refuse to issue a permit if the applicant has been convicted of a felony involving any sexual offense in this state or any other jurisdiction at any time before the date of the application. The Administrator may refuse to issue a permit if the applicant has been convicted of any violation of NRS 484.379 or a law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct within 3 years before the date of application, or has been convicted of a felony relating to the practice of taxicab drivers in this state or any other jurisdiction at any time before the date of the application. The administrator may also refuse to issue a driver’s permit if, after the background investigation of the applicant, determines that the applicant is morally unfit or if the issuance of the driver’s permit would be detrimental to public health, welfare or safety.
NRS 484.379: Driving under theinfluence of intoxicating liquor or controlled or prohibited substance.
NAC 706.516 Drivers: Fitness
- Pursuant to NRS 706.8841, an applicant for a driver’s permit may not be considered by the administrator to be fit, willing and able if he has:
- Been convicted of any felony within the past 5 years.
- Been convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within the past 3 years.
- Been convicted of any offense involving the sale of narcotics, dangerous drugs or controlled substances.
- Been found by the administrator after sufficient background investigation, to be morally unfit or the administrator finds that issuance of a permit to him would be detrimental to the public health, welfare or safety.
- An applicant for a driver’s permit may be considered by the administrator to be morally unfit or the administrator may consider that the issuance of a permit to him would be detrimental to the public health, welfare or safety if he has:
- Been involved in and found to be the driver responsible for any accident resulting in the death of or injury to another:
- His past driving record shows that he is an habitual reckless or negligent driver.
- Is a frequent violator of the traffic laws.
- Has committed an offense in another state within the past 3 years which, if committed in this state, would be grounds for revocation of his driver's license or driver's permit.
- Has failed on at least two occasions to keep his written promise to appear in court for any offense.
- Has been convicted of any sexual offense or any offense involving moral turpitude.
- Has been convicted of any offense involving possession of narcotics, dangerous drugs or controlled substances.