OPERATION OF TAXICABS UNDER JURISDICTION OF TAXICAB AUTHORITY

Section 1. Chapter 706 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set forth as sections
2 to 3, inclusive, of this requlation.

Sec. 2. 1. The Authority will develop a manual which sets forth the uniform system of accounts that
must be used for purpose of recording business transacted by certificate holders, preparing the annual report
submitted to the Authority as required by NRS 706.8829 and for use by the Authority in connection with
determining rates, charges or fares for taxicab service. The manual will be developed as follows:

(a) The Administrator will develop a proposed draft of the manual and transmit a copy to the Authority.

(b) Within 30 days of receiving the draft of the manual, the Authority shall set a public hearing to consider
the manual which will be served on all certificate holders at least 20 days before the hearing, indicating the
purpose, place, date and hour of the hearing. Notice of such public hearing will be published one time not less
than 20 days before the day fixed for the hearing in one newspaper of general circulation in Clark County,
Nevada.

(c) The Authority shall consider the proposed manual for approval at the scheduled public hearing. All
persons in attendance at the public meeting must be afforded the opportunity to provide comment upon the
proposed manual.

(d) The Authority shall consider the recommendations of the Administrator and any comment presented
during the meeting and shall approve or deny the proposed manual during the meeting or as soon as
practicable at a subsequent public meeting. If the Authority denies the proposed manual, it shall direct the
Administrator to develop a new draft to be submitted to the Authority for approval at a subsequent public
meeting, subject to the notice requirements of paragraph (b).

(q) If the Authority approves the proposed manual, the manual becomes effective upon approval and will
be made accessible to the certificate holders and the public on the Internet website maintained by the Authority.

2. After the initial approval of the proposed manual by the Authority pursuant to subsection 1, the
Administrator may revise the manual as follows:

(a) The Administrator will transmit a copy of any proposed revisions to the Authority.

(b) Within 30 days of receiving a copy of any proposed revisions, the Authority shall set a public hearing to
consider such proposed revisions which will be served on all certificate holders at least 20 days before the
hearing, indicating the purpose, place, date and hour of the hearing. Notice of such public hearing will be
published one time not less than 20 days before the day fixed for the hearing in one newspaper of general
circulation in Clark County, Nevada.

(c) The Authority shall consider the proposed revisions to the manual for approval at the scheduled public
hearing. All persons in attendance at the public meeting must be afforded the opportunity to provide comment
upon the proposed revisions.

(d) The Authority shall consider the recommendations of the Administrator and any comment presented
during the meeting and shall approve or deny the proposed revisions to the manual during the meeting or as
soon as practicable at a subsequent public meeting. Any proposed revisions approved by the Authority become
effective_upon approval. A revised manual which includes those revisions will be made accessible to the
certificate holders and the public on the Internet website maintained by the Authority. Any proposed revisions
not approved by the Authority will not be included in the revised manual.

Sec. 3. 1. Except when the governor has designated at the time of their appointment a member to serve
as chair of the Authority, the Authority shall select a member to serve as the chair.
2. The Authority shall select a member to serve as the vice-chair, who will perform the duties of the chair
in their absence, disability or disqualification.
3. The chair shall in cooperation with the Administrator determine the agenda for public meetings of the

Authority.




4. Unless another member of the Authority has been so designated by the chair, the chair shall be the
presiding officer of the Authority and preside in any public hearing that the Authority is required to conduct
by law.

5. The Authority may delegate the Administrator to preside in such procedural or preliminary matters as
permitted pursuant to NAC. 706.876 to 706.990, inclusive, related to any public hearing that the Authority is
required to conduct by law. In such matters, the Administrator may appoint a hearing officer pursuant to NRS
706.8821.

General Provisions

NAC 706.450 Definitions. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) As used in NAC 706.450 to 706.990,
inclusive, unless the context otherwise requires:

1. “Administrator” means the Taxicab Administrator or his or her authorized agent.

2. ‘“‘Authority” means the Taxicab Authority created by NRS 706.8818.

3. “Certificate” means a certificate of public convenience and necessity issued by the Authority.

4. “Driver” means a person who is employed by a certificate holder_to operate a taxicab or an
independent contractor leasing a taxicab whote operates a taxicab, and includes a certificate holder
when the certificate holder operates a taxicab. Fhe-term-does-hotinclude-an-independent-contractor-

5. “Independent contractor” means a person who drives and leases a taxicab from a certificate
holder pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive.

6. “Lease medallion” means the metal plate, digital or other medium issued by the Authority
pursuant to NAC 706.5565 which is affixed-te maintained in a taxicab authorizing it to be operated
by an independent contractor within the jurisdiction of the Authority.

7. “Medallion” means the metal plate, digital or other medium -issued by the Authority which
Is affixed-te maintained on or in a taxicab authorizing it to be operated by a driver within the
jurisdiction of the Authority.

8. “Permit” means the document supplied by the Authority authorizing a person to drive a
taxicab within the jurisdiction of the Authority for a period of 1 year-

9. “Regular business hours” means Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., excluding
legal holidays.

10. “Temporary permit” means the document supplied by the Authority authorizing a person to
drive a taxicab within the jurisdiction of the Authority for less than 1 year.

(Supplied in codification; A by Taxicab Auth., 10-13-88; 11-22-95; R103-01, 1-24-2002; R121-
01, 1-24-2002; R064-02, 7-31-2002; R109-05, 2-23-2006; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.453 Certificate: Quialifications of applicant; investigation. (NRS
706.8818, 706.8827)

1. The burden of proof by clear and convincing evidence is upon the applicant to satisfy the
Authority of his or her suitability to receive a certificate. The applicant must demonstrate:

(@) His or her financial ability to provide continuous service, including sufficient equity capital
to acquire the necessary property and equipment, but not less than the amount of equity capital
required by NAC 706.473.

(b) He or she has no record of a conviction of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude.

(c) He or she is not associated with, controls, is controlled by or exercises common control with,
an unsuitable person.

(d) He or she has sufficient experience or has employed persons with sufficient experience
properly to manage a taxicab company.

(e) His or her good moral character.
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2. The Authority reserves the right to conduct an investigation before issuing a certificate or a
permit. Upon determining that an investigation is necessary, the Authority will notify the applicant
of the estimated cost of the investigation. The Authority will not commence the investigation until
the applicant has paid one-half of the estimated cost.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 103, eff. 4-18-71; A 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-
02, 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.462 Criteria for multiple licenses. (NRS 706.8818)

1. The Authority will consider the acquisition of another company or companies by an operator
with an existing certificate if after the acquisition of the new company the combined medallions will
not exceed 49 percent of the total number of medallions in the industry.

2. In every instance in which a certificate holder seeks approval for the transfer of another
certificate to his or her control, the Authority will consider whether such multiple licensing is in the
best interests of the State of Nevada, having due regard for public convenience and the general
welfare of the inhabitants of these areas and of the traveling public.

3. In making this determination, the following factors may be considered:

(a) Has there been an adequate period of performance by the applicant by which the Authority
could conclude that existing operations are effective and therefore warrant further extension?

(b) Will the proposed transfer promote safe, adequate, economical and efficient service and foster
sound economic conditions in the taxicab industry?

(c) Will the proposed transfer result in unjust discrimination, undue preference or advantage, or
unfair or destructive competitive practices?

(d) Any other index or criteria deemed by the Authority to have effect on multiple licensing and
upon the public convenience and general welfare of the public.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 109, eff. 6-19-74; A 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.465 Transfer of interest in certificate or in corporation holding certificate. (NRS
706.8818)

1. An interest in a certificate or in a corporation holding a certificate may not be transferred
without first making application to and securing approval of the Authority.

2. A nonrefundable fee of $2400 must accompany an application for a transfer of any interest in
a certificate or in a corporation holding a certificate.

3. The Authority reserves the right to make an investigation before approving a transfer. Upon
determining that an investigation is necessary, the Authority will notify the applicant of the estimated
cost of the investigation. The Authority will not commence the investigation until the applicant has
paid one-half of the estimated cost of the investigation_and provided a before and after corporate
structure wire diagram organizational chart.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 104, eff. 4-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.471 Rates, charges and fares. (NRS 706.8818)

1. Only the Authority may set, adjust, alter or change the rates, charges or fares for service by a
taxicab.

2. A hearing concerning rates, charges or fares may be initiated by the Authority or upon
application of any certificate holder.

3. Except upon a showing that the public interest requires otherwise, the rates, charges or fares
of all holders of a certificate in a county will be uniform.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 108, eff. 3-18-71] — (NAC A 6-13-86; 10-13-88)

3
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NAC 706.473 Certificate holders: Equity capital. (NRS 706.8818)

1. Each certificate holder shall maintain an investment of not less than 20 percent equity capital
in his or her operations and include proof of that investment in his or her annual report filed with the
Authority.

2. A certificate holder who fails to maintain adequate equity capital as required by subsection 1
shall, not later than 3 months after receiving notice from the Authority of that failure, file a plan with
the Authority to maintain such equity capital within the next 12 months.

3.  Within 15 months after receiving notice from the Authority that he or she has failed to
maintain adequate equity capital, a certificate holder must have an investment of not less than 20
percent equity capital in his or her operations.

4. The Authority may revoke the certificate of a certificate holder who fails to comply with the
provisions of this section.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.474 Certificate holders: Change of address; list of supervisory employees. (NRS
706.8818)

1. All certificate holders are required to notify the Administrator any time they change the
location of their business.

2. Upon request by the Administrator, Ccertificate holders shall furnish to the Administrator a
current list of supervisory or responsible persons in their employ.—which—ncludes—a—schedule
ndicating-when-theyare-avatlable: The persons en-this-histmust be authorized to act for the certificate
holder in dealing with the Authority.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 203, eff. 3-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.476 Certificate holders: Notification of Administrator of complaint concerning
driver or independent contractor. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) If a certificate holder receives a
complaint concerning a driver or an independent contractor that alleges a violation of any of the
provisions of this chapter or chapter 706 of NRS, the certificate holder shall notify the Administrator
of the complaint not later than 25 working days after receiving the complaint.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.477 Certificate holders: Notice of dismissal of drivers. (NRS 706.8818) Each
certificate holder shall, W|th|n 2 worklng days inform the Administrator of the dlsmlssal of any driver
and the reason therefor. WA . i

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 205, eff. 3-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-
2002)

NAC 706.478 Certificate holders: Dispatch log. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) A certificate
holder shall maintain a log for each taxicab, including, without limitation, a taxicab operated by an
independent contractor, dispatched for service by a radio call. The log must include:

1. The date and time the call requesting transportation was received;

2. The name of the person or location requesting transportation;

3. The unit designation of the taxicab dispatched; and

4. The date and time the designated unit was dispatched for the requested transportation.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)
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NAC 706.479 Certificate holders: Confidentiality of financial reports and records
submitted to Authority. (NRS 706.8818) The annual financial report submitted by a certificate
holder pursuant to the provisions of NRS 706.8829 and any financial records or other documents
submitted by a certificate holder pursuant to an audit conducted by the Authority are confidential and
may be disclosed only to:

1. A member of the Authority;

2. An authorized employee of the Authority who needs the records for purposes relating to the
administration of NRS 706.881 to 706.885, inclusive; or

3. A person or governmental entity that is authorized to obtain the records pursuant to an order
issued by a court of competent jurisdiction.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R109-05, eff. 2-23-2006)

NAC 706.480 Commencement of operations; interruption of service. (NRS 706.8818)

1. A certificate holder shall begin operations within 30 days after the certificate is issued.

2. The holder of a certificate shall provide regular service 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. If
an interruption in service occurs and is likely to continue more than 12 hours, immediate notice must
be given to the Authority of the character, course and probable duration of the interruption.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rules 101 & 102, eff. 3-18-71; A 5-8-74] — (NAC A 1-25-85;
10-13-88)

NAC 706.481 Violent crime against driver or independent contractor on duty:
Notification of certificate holders; dissemination of information concerning crime;
participation in secret witness program. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181)

1. If adriver or an independent contractor is the victim of a violent crime while on duty, the
Administrator will notify all certificate holders concerning the commission of the crime, including
all relevant details pertaining thereto.D

2. Upon notification, a certificate holder shall immediately disseminate the information
concerning the crime to all drivers and dispatch operators employed by him or her and to all
independent contractors who have entered into a lease agreement with the certificate holder pursuant
to NAC 706. 5551 to 706. 5569 |nclu5|ve

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 11-22-95; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.483 Crashes. (NRS 706.8818) Whenever a taxicab is involved in a crash, the
Authority must be notified immediately and the cab inspected by the AdministratorAutherity-orits

designee.
[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 107, eff. 4-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.486 Taxicabs: Color scheme, insigne, cruising light design, unit designation
numbers; information placard. (NRS 706.8818, 706.8833)
1. Each certificate holder shall:
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(a) Equip his or her taxicabs with a cruising light approved by the Administrator attached to the
top of the taxicab which must be illuminated during the hours of darkness. The light must not be
confused with the signal lights described in NAC 706.501.

(b) Display in bold block letters, not less than [6-]4 inches in height, the unit number of each
taxicab, on the sides of both front fenders and on the left [efthe-]rear [trunk-lid] of the taxicab in
plain view, in a color contrasting with the color of the taxicab.

[(c) Display his or her telephone-numberand-the- taxicab unit number ef-the-taxicab-within each
taxicab in a location plainly visible to all passengers.]

(d) Obtain approval from the Administrator for the color scheme, insigne, cruising light design
and assignment of unit designation numbers to ensure that they do not conflict with those of another
certificate holder.

(e) Affix inside each taxicab, in a conspicuous place, a bracket or holder that would accommodate
a 5-inch by 7-inch driver’s permit and an authority rate card.

(f) Display inside each taxicab, in a conspicuous place, a placard at least 5 inches by 7 inches in
size in substantially the following form:

IMPORTANT
You are riding in a (name of taxicab company) vehicle.
Please note the company name and unit number of this vehicle.
This information is important if you leave property in this vehicle
or wish to file a complaint or commendation with the
Nevada Taxicab Authority at (702) [486-6532] 668-4000.

2. Any taxicab found to be in violation of this section by the Authority will be placed out of
service and not put back in service until inspection and approval by the Authority.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 301, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74; 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-
88; 9-6-96; R064-02, 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.487 Taxicabs: Modification of color scheme or insigne. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8833)

1. A certificate holder shall not:

(a) Modify the color scheme or insigne of any taxicab unless the certificate holder first secures
written approval for the modification from the Administrator in accordance with the provisions of
this section.

(b) Operate any taxicab on which the color scheme or insigne has been modified without first
securing written approval for the modification from the Administrator in accordance with the
provisions of this section or for which approval has been withdrawn by the Administrator pursuant
to this section.

2. Ifacertificate holder wishes to modify temporarily the color scheme or insigne of any taxicab,
the certificate holder must file a written application with the Administrator. The application must
include:

(a) A description of the proposed temporary modification.

(b) Fhree One colored copyies or photographs of the proposed temporary modification.
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application.

3. The Administrator shall approve or deny an application filed pursuant to this section within
30 days after receipt of the application. If no action is taken within the 30-day period, the application
shall be deemed denied.

4. The Administrator may approve an application filed pursuant to this section subject to

satisfaction-of-all-the-following-conditions:

sufficiently distinct from the approved color scheme and insigne or temporary modification of
another certificate holder.
{eh(b) The information required pursuant to NRS 706.8835 remains clearly visible at all times on

any taxicab that is temporarily modified.
~{e} (c) The temporary modification of the taxicab does not create a risk to the health, safety or
welfare of the traveling public, as determined by the Administrator.

5. If an application filed pursuant to this section is approved, not less than 7 days before the
temporary modification of any taxicab, the certificate holder shall provide the Administrator with the
following information for the taxicab that will be temporarily modified:

(a) The unit designation number of the taxicab.

(b) The dates on which the temporary modification of the taxicab will begin and end.

6. The Administrator may withdraw the approval of the temporary modification of any taxicab
if the Administrator determines that:

(a) The temporary modification is not sufficiently distinct from the approved color scheme and
insigne of another certificate holder;

(b) The materials used in the temporary modification have deteriorated to the extent that the color
scheme or insigne is no longer neat in appearance; or

(c) The temporary modification creates a risk to the health, safety or welfare of the traveling
public.

NAC 706.489 Taxicabs: Display of medallions. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) A certificate
holder shall not permit a cab to be put into operation unless the medallion or lease medallion issued
by the Administrator is prominently displayed on the left rear fender of the cab_or as otherwise
available in a digital format.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 202, eff. 4-18-71] — (NAC A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)
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NAC 706.492 Taxicabs: Mechanical standards and special equipment. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181) A certificate holder shall not permit a taxicab to be operated in passenger
service unless the taxicab meets all of the following standards in addition to those prescribed by NRS
706.8837:

1. The front suspension system is in good repair and proper working order.

2. The engine, transmission and drive train, including mounts, are in good repair and proper
working order and, during normal operation, do not die, miss, backfire or show noticeable loss of
power.

3. The engine, transmission, drive train or accessories must not emit loud noises so as to be
disturbing to the passengers or distracting to the driver or independent contractor.

4. The taxicab is equipped with an air filter or adequate flame arrester covering the air intake of
the-earburetor engine.

5. The taxicab does not pull to the left or right or tend to drift under normal driving conditions.

6. The engine, transmission, radiator or accessories do not allow a noticeable quantity of fluid
to leak.

7. The engine does not emit excessive smoke from either the exhaust or crankcase.

8. All windows are operable, free of obstruction and the driver’s or independent contractor’s
view is not impaired in any direction._If there exists a manufacturer sticker that obstructs the view,
the Administrator may make the determination of vision impairment or not.

9. The brake lining is of sufficient thickness to prevent the metal portion of the brake shoe or
pad from coming in contact with the brake drum or disc. Under normal braking conditions, the taxicab
does not pull to the left or right or unusual locking of wheels does not occur.

10. Heating and air-conditioning systems are mandatory equipment on all taxicabs operating in
this State and are required to provide reasonable comfort to passengers at their request and must
conform to reasonable standards of efficiency.

11. The taxicab must be equipped with:

(@) A mirror on the outside of the front door on the passenger’s side;

(b) Operable trunk lid supports or a trunk rod or bar, one end of which is permanently affixed to
the vehicle;

(c) Straps to tie down the trunk;

~(e)(d) Seat belts that are maintained in a clean and operable condition at all times;
—H_(e) Automatic locks which control all doors and which are operable at the driver’s or
independent contractor’s door; and
g} (f) A trunk release which is operable from inside the trunk.
[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 307, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74; A and renumbered as Rule
306, 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; 11-22-95; R064-02, 7-31-2002; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.495 Taxicabs: Two-way [raecies] communication; requests by telephone for
service. (NRS 706.8818)

1. The two-way [ragio-] communication in each taxicab of a certificate holder must be turned
on and audible at all times.

2. A certificate holder shall provide reasonable service to persons who make telephone requests
for service if that service is within the limits of the holder’s certificate.
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[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 303, eff. 4-18-71; A 8-16-78; 6-11-80] — (NAC A 10-
13-88)

NAC 706.496 Taxicabs: Transportation for elderly persons and persons with permanent
disabilities. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88182)

1. The Administrator shall establish, maintain and make known a telephone number for elderly
persons and persons with permanent disabilities to register complaints regarding transportation by
taxicab.

2. Each certificate holder shall inquire of a person who requests transportation by taxicab within
the area allocated to the certificate holder whether he or she is an elderly person or a person with a
permanent disability.

3. Each certificate holder shall inform a person who requests transportation by taxicab within
the area allocated to the certificate holder and who identifies himself or herself as an elderly person
or a person with a permanent disability of the:

(a) Estimated time of arrival of the requested taxicab; and

(b) Telephone number maintained by the Administrator pursuant to subsection 1.

4. Each certificate holder shall:

(a) Create a record indicating the date and time of each call received from a person who identifies
himself or herself as an elderly person or a person with a permanent disability; and

(b) Provide the record to the Authority monthly, on or before the 10th day of the month following
the month in which the record is created.

5. For the purposes of this section, a person shall be deemed to:

(a) Be “elderly” if the person is 60 years of age or older.

(b) Have a “permanent disability” if the person is permanently disabled by a physical or mental
condition that materially limits or contributes to limiting his or her activities or functioning.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R121-01, eff. 1-24-2002)

NAC 706.497 Taxicabs: Registration and control by certificate holder; arrangements
with driver. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181)

1. Any vehicle operated as a taxicab must be registered to a certificate holder.

2. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, a certificate holder
may not enter into any lease, commission arrangement or other agreement concerning any taxicab
registered to the certificate holder unless he or she maintains full and complete control of the taxicab
at all times.

3. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, a certificate holder
may not enter into a:

(a) Contract for sale;

(b) Conditional sale;_or

(c) Chattel mortgage[;-o¢
—{e)—Lease],
= with an employee of the certificate holder concerning any taxicab registered to the certificate
holder.

[

1
(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.501 Taximeters: Design; lights. (NRS 706.8818, 706.8836)
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1. Electronic meters must have all phases of the “LED” or “LCD” digits working properly.
2. The face of the taximeter must be of sufficient transparency that the fare recording device can

be read by passengers and must be free of any obstructlon [Mkmmrs—purekasedraﬂeuaneary—k
i -]

3 Every certlflcate holder shaII equip |ts taX|cabs Wlth one or more amber Ilghts on top of the
taxicab which are plainly visible during the daylight from all angles at a distance of 100 feet. These

lights must connect to a contact switch attached to the taximeter and must automatically illuminate
when the taximeter is not in operation. These lights must operate independently from the cruising
Ilghts and are conS|dered as part of the meter.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 305, eff. 4-18-71; A and renumbered as Rule 304, 8-16-
78] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.504 Taximeters: Inspection and seal. (NRS 706.8818, 706.8836)
1. A certificate holder shall not place a taxicab in passenger service at any time unless the
taximeter has been mspected and sealed by the Authorlty[a{—be%hmeiea;ameteeand—transmrs&en]

[2

-3-2. Any taxicab found by the Authorlty to have:

(a) A defective or inaccurate taximeter;

(b) A taximeter that shows signs of having been tampered with; or

(c) A taximeter with either seal removed,
= must be placed out of service and will not be put back into service until inspected and approved
by the Authority.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 306, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74; Renumbered as Rule 305, 8-
16-78]

NAC 706.507 Trip charges. (NRS 706.8818)

1. After ataximeter has been adjusted to reflect the trip charge, it must not be put back in service
until it has been sealed by the Authority.

2. The amounts collected by the trip charge are due and payable to the Authority monthly, on or
before the 10th day of the month following the month in which they are collected.

3. On or before the 10th day of each month, a return for the preceding month must be filed with
the Authority in such form as the Authority prescribes.

4. A return or remittance not delivered to the office of the Authority on or before the 10th day
of the month in which it is due is delinquent.

5. If areturn or remittance is delinquent, a penalty of 10 percent and interest at the rate of 12
percent per annum must be added to the amount owed.

6. If a return or remittance is delinquent for more than 10 days, the Authority may revoke or

suspend the holder’s certificate.
[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 4, eff. 7-1-71] — (NAC A 1-25-85; 10-13-88)

NAC 706.510 Trip sheets_ information. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181)
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—1—The Admlnlstratoreemay request for trlp information eenilsea{eerelakly—tnp—sheeeat any t|me
for good cause-3 ' Ay

depheatee%ubsﬂ%u&eeepyeﬂhesheet WhICh shall be prowded Wlthln ten davs of request

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 206, eff. 3-18-71; A 5-8-74; 8-16-78; 6-11-80] — (NAC
A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.513 Drivers and independent contractors: Permits. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8841)

1. No person may operate a taxicab within the jurisdiction of the Authority without having first
obtained a permit from the Administrator.

2. Permits issued by the Authority to a driver remain the property of the Authority and must be
returned to the Authority when a driver changes companies, leaves the industry or upon demand of
the Authority.

3. Permits issued by the Authority to an independent contractor remain the property of the
Authority and must be returned to the Authority if the permit is suspended, revoked or expired or
upon demand of the Authority.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 409, eff. 3-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R003-16, 12-21-
2016)

NAC 706.516 Drivers: Fitness. (NRS 706.8818, 706.8841)

1. Pursuant to NRS 706.8841, an applicant for a driver’s permit may not be considered by the
Administrator to be fit, willing and able if he or she has:

(a) Been convicted of any felony within the past 5 years.

(b) Been convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within the past
3 years.

(c) Been convicted of any offense involving the sale of narcotics, dangerous drugs or controlled
substances.

(d) Been found by the Administrator after sufficient background investigation, to be morally unfit
or the Administrator finds that issuance of a permit to the applicant would be detrimental to the public
health, welfare or safety.

2. An applicant for a driver’s permit may be considered by the Administrator to be morally unfit
or the Administrator may consider that the issuance of a permit to the applicant would be detrimental
to the public health, welfare or safety if:

(a) The applicant has been involved in and found to be the driver responsible for any crash
resulting in the death of or injury to another.

(b) The applicant’s past driving record shows that he or she is an habitual reckless or negligent
driver.

(c) The applicant is a frequent violator of the traffic laws.

(d) The applicant has committed an offense in another state within the past 3 years which, if
committed in this State, would be grounds for revocation of his or her driver’s license or driver’s
permit.

(e) The applicant has failed on at least two occasions to keep his or her written promise to appear
in court for any offense.

11


https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec88181
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8841
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8841
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8841

() The applicant has been convicted of any sexual offense or any offense involving moral
turpitude.

(g) The applicant has been convicted of any offense involving the possession of narcotics,
dangerous drugs or controlled substances.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 401, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74; 12-19-75; 8-16-78] — (NAC
A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.519 Drivers: Physical qualifications. (NRS 706.8818)

1. Inaddition to the requirements of NRS 706.8842, an applicant must:

(a) Meet the requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 49 C.F.R. 391.41 to
391.49, inclusive.

(b) Provide to the Administrator a copy of a health certificate[-valid-feratleast 2-years] valid up
to two years. If the health certificate expires before the proposed date of expiration of the applicant’s
permit, the applicant must obtain a new health certificate and provide a copy to the Administrator
before issuance of the permit.

2. This section applies both to new applicants and applicants for renewal.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 402, eff. 4-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-
2002)

NAC 706.522 Drivers: Temporary permits. (NRS 706.8818)

1. The Administrator may issue a temporary permit to an applicant for a driver’s permit to allow
time for the background investigation and the processing of a permanent permit. If during that time
the Administrator finds the applicant unfit, he or she shall deny the permit and recall the temporary
permit.

2. Temporary permits are void after their expiration date. Holders of temporary permits are
subject to all laws and regulations and temporary permits are subject to suspension or revocation.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rules 403 & 404, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74]

NAC 706.525 Drivers: Anndalpermits. (NRS 706.8818, 706.8841)

1. If the Administrator determines that an applicant meets all the requirements of NRS
706.8841 and 706.8842 and the regulations of the Authority, he or she shall issue an-arrual permit.
Annual-pPermits are valid for [1-year-Jup to 2 years after the date of application, unless suspended
or revoked.

2. Anndal-permits—H-they-have-expired—are-not-renewable: A permit that has expired may not
be renewed.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rules 405 & 406, eff. 3-18-71] — (NAC A 1-25-85; 10-13-88)

NAC 706.528 Drivers and independent contractors: Renewal, reapplication and
replacement of permits; waiver or extension of requirements for renewal. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8841)

1. A permit holder may, on or within 30 days before the expiration date of his or her permit,
renew it upon making application therefor, providing proof of completion of an annual program for
driver training specified by the Administrator and paying the prescribed fee, subject to the
requirements set forth in NAC 706.453 to 706.555, inclusive. After the expiration date, a holder must
make an application for a new permit and is subject to the same laws and regulations and fees as a
new applicant, unless before the expiration date the Administrator for good cause grants a waiver or
extension of the requirements for renewal.
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2. Upon the loss of a permit, the holder shall immediately notify the Administrator and shall not
operate or enter into a lease agreement for a taxicab until the fee for a lost permit has been paid and
a duplicate permit issued.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rules 407 & 408, eff. 3-18-71; A 5-8-74] — (NAC A 10-13-
88; 11-22-95; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.531 Drivers and independent contractors: Display of permits. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181)

1. A driver or independent contractor shall display his or her permit to the left of the rate
schedule in the [bracket-er]holder provided for that purpose at all times while on duty.

2. The permit must be displayed in an upright position and facing the passenger for an
unobstructed view and so it may be easily read.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 410, eff. 3-18-71; A 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R003-
16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.534 Drivers and independent contractors: Failure to possess valid permit. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181)

1. Any person who is found by the Administrator to be operating a taxicab without having in
his or her possession a valid driver’s permit is in violation of NAC 706.513.

2. A taxicab, found by the Administrator to be operated by a driver or independent contractor
without a valid driver’s permit, may be taken out of service until put back in service by a driver or
independent contractor who has a valid permit.

3. Any driver or independent contractor in possession of an altered or defaced permit will not
be considered to be in possession of a valid driver’s permit.

4. Any driver or independent contractor who is found by the Administrator to have committed
any violation of an applicable law or regulation while his or her permit is expired, is subject to hearing
and appropriate disciplinary action.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 411, eff. 3-18-71; A 5-8-74; 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-
88; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.535 Drivers: Notice to Authority of change of name or address or conviction of
certain offenses. (NRS 706.8818)

1. The holder of a permit shall provide written notice to the Authority not later than 10 working
days after:

(a) There is any change of name or home or mailing address of the holder of the permit; or

(b) He or she is convicted of an offense described in paragraph (a), (b) or (c) of subsection 1
of NAC 706.516 within the periods prescribed in that subsection.

2. The Authority shall revoke the permit of any person who fails to provide written notice to the
Authority of any conviction described in paragraph (b) of subsection 1 within the periods prescribed
in subsection 1 of NAC 706.516.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.537 Drivers and independent contractors: Training. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181)

1. All applicants for a driver’s permit must enroll in and successfully complete a defensive
driving, driver orientation and safety course approved by the Authority before being issued a driver’s
permit. All applicants for the renewal of a permit must enroll in and successfully complete an annual
course on driver safety which has been approved by the Authority.
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2. Anydriver or independent contractor who fails to comply with the requirements of this section
is subject to suspension of his or her driver’s permit.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 412, eff. 5-8-74; A 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; 11-
22-95; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.540 Drivers and independent contractors: Standards of appearance and
dress. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8845)

1. Certificate holders shall submit to the Authority a proposed standard of dress and appearance
for its drivers and independent contractors, if applicable. Upon approval by the Authority, each
certificate holder will be responsible for maintaining those standards of dress and appearance for its
drivers and independent contractors.

2. Adriver or independent contractor who fails to meet the standards of dress set by his or her
employer or the certificate holder with whom the independent contractor has entered into a lease
agreement pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, as approved by the Authority shall be
considered by the Authority to be in violation of subsections 1 and 2 of NRS 706.8845.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 207, eff. 4-18-71] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R003-16, 12-21-
2016)

NAC 706.543 Drivers and independent contractors: Standards of conduct. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8845) During a driver’s or independent contractor’s period of duty, he
or she shall, in addition to the requirements of NRS 706.8845:

1. Not engage in verbal arguments or acts of physical violence.

2. Refrain from backing into position in any taxicab stand.

3. Refrain from loading passengers at any establishment where a taxicab stand has been
established unless the driver or independent contractor has been through the rotation of the stand.
This provision does not apply if:

(a) There are no taxicabs on the stand; or

(b) The taxicab is operating via an electronic hailing service which connects passengers directly
to a driver or independent contractor.

4. Not permit more than two passengers in the front seat of the driver’s or independent
contractor’s taxicab and not permit more than [five-] six passengers in his or her taxicab at any one
time.

5. Not knowingly operate a taxicab equipped with a faulty or inaccurate taximeter, or that shows
signs of having been tampered with.

6. Not operate a taxicab in which the taximeter is not sufficiently illuminated or the face
obscured to the extent that the entire fare recording device cannot be easily seen by the passenger.

7. Not operate a taxicab in which the taximeter does not have a properly attached seal as affixed
by the Administrator.

8. Not operate a taxicab that does not have [properlyaffixed-]a valid medallion displayed or
lease medallion, digital or otherwise, as issued by the Administrator.

9. Not operate a taxicab when any illness or physical or mental disorder may impair his or her
safe operation of a taxicab.

10. Not operate a taxicab while taking drugs that may impair his or her ability safely to operate
a taxicab.
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— —2211. Not display or distribute any advertising within or on the driver’s or independent
contractor’s taxicab which has not been authorized by his or her employer or the certificate holder
with whom the independent contractor has entered into a lease agreement pursuant to NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 501, eff. 4-18-71; A 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-
02, 7-31-2002; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.544 Drivers and independent contractors: Reasons to fear for personal
safety. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8847) For the purpose of NRS 706.8847, a driver or
independent contractor has good reason to fear for his or her personal safety in transporting a person
if, without limitation:

1. The person refuses to state with specificity the person’s intended destination or requests a
change of destination to an inexact location;

2. The person acts in a disorderly manner, including the use of:

(a) Hostile or offensive gestures; or

(b) Indecent or offensive language; or

3. Thedriver or independent contractor has a reasonable suspicion that the person is concealing

a weapon or other dangerous object under the person’s clothing.
(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 11-22-95; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.546 Drivers [and-independentecontractors]: Conditions of employment. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181)

1. No certificate holder may knowlingly allow a driver [erindependent-contractor-]to operate a
taxicab under any of the following conditions:

() When the driver’s license of the taxicab driver [erindependent-contracter-]is not in his or her
possession or has been suspended or revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles, until proof of
reinstatement of driving privileges has been furnished to the Administrator;

(b) When a driver’s permit has been denied or revoked by the Administrator or is under
suspension as ordered by the Administrator;

(c) During the time that a driver [er-independent-contractor-]shows temporary or permanent
inability to meet the standards of NRS 706.8842;

(d) When a driver [erindependentcontracter—]is intoxicated or shows signs of having been
drinking;

(e) When a driver [erindependentecentractor-]shows obvious effects of having taken drugs;

() When a driver [erindependent-contractor-]does not meet the prescribed minimum standards
of dress and appearance as set forth by the certificate holder; or

(9) When a driver [erindependentcentractor-]does not possess a valid permit issued by the
Administrator which authorizes him or her to be employed by the certificate holder or operate a
taxicab, as applicable.

2. In case of unforeseen circumstances, a driver having a valid permit issued by the Authority
who has not exceeded the hours of service established by NAC 706.549 may drive a period of duty
for another company using the same dispatch facilities.

[3. s

' -]
[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 201, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-
02, 7-31-2002; R003-16, 12-21-2016)
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NAC 706.549 Drivers and independent contractors: Hours of service. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181)

1. Adriver or independent contractor shall not work a period of duty longer than 12 consecutive
hours except when under a charter or a trip, the charter or trip having commenced within a reasonable
period before the end of the driver’s or independent contractor’s period of duty.

2. Under no circumstances may a driver or independent contractor work longer than 16 hours
within a 24-consecutive hour period.

3. A driver or independent contractor who has completed a period of duty of 8 hours or more
must not be knowingly permitted or required to resume driving unless the driver or independent
contractor has been off duty for at least 8 consecutive hours.

4. A certificate holder shall not knowingly require or permit any driver or independent contractor
to work Ionger than 12 consecutlve hours, except as prowded in subsection 1.

] — (NAC A 10-

[Taxu:ab Auth., Gen Order No 3 Rule 204 eff 4- 18 71 A 3-28- 76 8 16 78
13-88; R064-02, 7-31-2002; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.550 Drivers and independent contractors: Provision of receipt to
passenger. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) At the end of each trip, the driver or independent
contractor shall, upon request, provide his or her passenger with a receipt that includes:

1. The amount of the fare as indicated on the taximeter;

2. The name of the certificate holder who owns or leases to an independent contractor the vehicle
in which the passenger was transported; and

3. The permit number of the driver or independent contractor.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.551 Drivers [and—independent—contractors—|Search of vehicle [after—trip];
disposition of property found. (NRS 706.8818, 706.88181) Each driver [and—independent

eoentractor-]shall conduct a search of the interior of his or her taxicab at reasonable intervals minimally
twice per shift [the-termination-of-each-trip]. If the driver or independent contractor discovers any
personal property of—a—passenger—in the taxicab, the driver or independent contractor shall
immediately report the property discovered to the driver’s employer or the certificate holder with
whom the independent contractor has entered into a lease agreement pursuant to NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, and, as soon as practicable, deliver the property to his or her
employer or the certificate holder, as applicable. The employer or certificate holder shall maintain
the property in his or her possession and dispose of the property in the manner provided by law.
(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002; A by R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.552 Drivers [and-independentcontractors]: Prohibited and required acts. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181, 706.8849)

1. A taxicab driver [oranindependent-contractor-]shall, in addition to the requirements of NRS
706.8849:

(a) Ensure that the electronic taximeter of his or her taxicab is engaged while the taxicab is on
hire.

(b) Not solicit passengers by voice or action.
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(c) Not accept, directly or indirectly, a gratuity or any form of compensation from any person for
diverting or attempting to divert a prospective customer from any commercial establishment.

(d) Not knowingly operate a taxicab that is unsafe for passenger service.

(e) Report immediately any inoperable or defective taximeters to the certificate holder or the
certificate holder’s representative.

(F) Not divert or attempt to divert a prospective customer from any commercial establishment.

(g) Except as authorized by the taxicab driver’s employer, the certificate holder with whom the
independent contractor has entered into a lease agreement pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569,
inclusive, or the Authority, not permit any person, other than himself or herself, within his or her
taxicab unless that person is a passenger who is actually being transported and is paying a fare.

2. A taxicab driver shall, in addition to the requirements of NRS 706.8849:

(a) Excepting an independent contractor, ubpon changing employment from one certificate
holder to another, present to the Administrator the taxicab driver’s permit and a referral slip from his
or her new employer for issuance of a permit. Before commencing employment, a taxicab driver
must present his or her taxicab driver’s permit to his or her employer.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in NAC 706.546, not operate a taxicab within the jurisdiction
of the Authority for a company other than the company listed on his or her driver’s permit_or the
parent company thereof:

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 505, eff. 4-18-71; A 5-8-74; A and renumbered as Rule
503, 8-16-78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-2002; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.553 Issuance of referral for employment. (NRS 706.8818) A certificate holder
shall not issue a referral for employment to an applicant until the applicant has provided the certificate
holder with a copy of the physician’s certificate required by NRS 706.8842 or a waiver as prescribed
by 49 C.F.R. 391.41 et seq., and proof that the applicant is lawfully entitled to remain and work in
the United States.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.555 Drivers [and-independentcontractors]: Use of taxicab for crime. (NRS
706.8818, 706.88181) A taxicab driver [ertrdependenteentractor-]must not willfully, knowingly
or intentionally use his or her taxicab, or the taxicab driver’s employment to facilitate the commission
of acrime, or permit the use of his or her taxicab by another, as a means of facilitating the commission
of a crime.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 3 Rule 506, eff. 4-18-71; A and renumbered as Rule 504, 8-16-
78] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R003-16, 12-21-2016)

Lease Agreement with Independent Contractor

NAC 706.5551 Lease of taxicab to independent contractor: Approval of lease by
Administrator required; requirements for independent contractor. (NRS 706.88181)
—4. A certificate holder may lease a taxicab to an independent contractor pursuant to NRS
706.88396 and NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, provided that the:
(@) Lease [agreement-] template has been approved by the Administrator pursuant to NAC
706.5555;
(b) Independent contractor:
(1) Holds a driver’s permit issued pursuant to NRS 706.8841; and
(2) Has obtained a medical examiner’s certificate pursuant to NRS 706.8842; and
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(c) Taxicab which is leased under the lease [agreement-] template bears a lease medallion or a
digital medalllon issued to the certlflcate holder pursuant to NAC 706.5565.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12 21-2016)

NAC 706.5553 Authority of certificate holder to lease taxicab to independent contractor;
requirements. (NRS 706.88181)

1. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, a certificate holder
may not lease any vehicle which it uses as a taxicab.

2. A certificate holder may not lease a taxicab pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569,
inclusive, unless the certificate holder:

(a) Is the registered owner of the taxicab; or

(b) Has the legal authority to lease the taxicab to an independent contractor pursuant to NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive.

3. Asused in this section, “registered owner” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 482.102.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5555 Procedure for approval of lease agreement; duties of Administrator;
appeal of disapproval by certificate holder. (NRS 706.88181)

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a certificate holder seeking to lease a taxicab to
an independent contractor must submit a copy of the lease agreement to the Administrator. Except as
otherwise provided in subsection 4, such a lease is not deemed executed until it has been approved
or preapproved by the Administrator pursuant to this section.

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3 of NAC 706.5557, the Administrator shall
approve a lease agreement submitted pursuant to subsection 1 if:

(a) The lease agreement meets the requirements of NAC 706.5557;

(b) The certificate holder and the independent contractor who are parties to the lease agreement
meet the requirements of NAC 706.5551; and

(c) All other applicable requirements of NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, are met.

3. A certificate holder may submit a lease agreement template to the Administrator for
preapproval. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3 of NAC 706.5557, the Administrator shall
preapprove a lease agreement template submitted pursuant to this subsection if the lease agreement
template meets the requirements of NAC 706.5557. A lease agreement template that has been
preapproved pursuant to this subsection is deemed to be preapproved for not more than 2 years after
the date on which the Administrator issues the preapproval.

4. Upon receiving a lease agreement or lease agreement template from a certificate holder for
approval or preapproval pursuant to this section, the Administrator will, within 10 working days,
approve or preapprove the lease agreement or lease agreement template, disapprove the lease
agreement or lease agreement template or request more information from the certificate holder. A
lease agreement or lease agreement template which has not been acted on by the Administrator within
10 working days after receipt of the lease agreement or lease agreement template is deemed approved
or preapproved, as applicable.

5. A certificate holder may appeal the disapproval of a lease agreement or lease agreement
template by the Administrator pursuant to this section. Such an appeal:
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(a) Must be filed not more than 10 working days after the date of the disapproval; and

(b) Will be heard pursuant to the requirements of NAC 706.876 to 706.990, inclusive, by the
Authority at the next available meeting of the Authority.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5557 Requirements for lease agreement; authorized actions if lease agreement
violated. (NRS 706.88181)

1. A lease agreement entered into between a certificate holder and an independent contractor
pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, must:

(a) Beinwriting and in a form approved by the Authority.

(b) Be signed by each party, or his or her representative, to the agreement.

(c) Identify the use to be made of the taxicab by the independent contractor and the consideration
to be received by the certificate holder. The use to be made of a taxicab must conform to the authority
granted by the certificate to operate the taxicab.

(d) Include language that the certificate holder and the independent contractor indemnify, release
and hold harmless governmental agencies, including, without limitation, the Authority, from all
claims arising from the lease agreement.

(e) ldentify the taxicab to be leased under the lease agreement.

(F) Specifically state that the:

(1) Independent contractor is subject to all laws and regulations relating to the operation of a
taxicab which have been established by the Authority and other regulatory agencies and that a
violation of those laws and regulations will breach the lease agreement.

(2) Certificate holder is responsible for providing insurance for the taxicab which meets the
requirements of NRS 706.8828.

(3) Lease agreement does not release the certificate holder from any of his or her duties or
responsibilities set forth in this chapter and chapter 706 of NRS.

(4) Independent contractor:

(I) Shall comply with the requirements of subsections 1 to 4, inclusive, of NAC
706.549 concerning hours of service;

(I1) Shall return the taxicab to the certificate holder not less than one time per [day-] week
to enable the certificate holder to comply with the requirements of NRS 706.8837 and 706.8838;

(111) Shall not transfer, assign, sublease or otherwise enter into an agreement for another
person to operate the taxicab; and

(IV) Shall remit to the certificate holder all applicable taxes and fees required pursuant
to NRS 706.8826 and NAC 706.5563 collected by the independent contractor from each passenger.

(5) Taxicab provided by the certificate holder pursuant to the lease agreement:

() Will be painted with the name and unit number of the certificate holder; and
(1) 1s in good mechanical condition that will meet the requirements for operating taxicabs
in this State and the county or other political subdivision in which the taxicab will be operated.

(g) Contain any other provision which the Authority deems necessary to protect the health and
safety of the public.

2. A lease agreement entered into between a certificate holder and an independent contractor
pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, may contain a requirement for a security deposit
that meets the requirements of NAC 706.5559.

3. If the Authority has reason to believe that a lease provision required by this section is being
violated, the Authority may, upon at least 5 days’ notice to the certificate holder or independent
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contractor, as applicable, and after a hearing unless waived by the certificate holder or independent
contractor, as applicable:

(a) Order the certificate holder or independent contractor, as applicable, to cease and desist from
any action taken in violation of the lease agreement;

(b) Impose an administrative fine as provided in subsection 2 of NRS 706.885; or

(c) Revoke or suspend the approval or preapproval granted pursuant to NAC 706.5555 for any
lease agreements entered into by the certificate holder or independent contractor, as applicable.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5559 Certificate holder may require security deposit from independent
contractor; duties of certificate holder. (NRS 706.88181)

1. A certificate holder may, as a condition of leasing a taxicab to an independent contractor,
require the driver to deposit money with the certificate holder in an amount sufficient to secure the
return of the taxicab in good condition.

—32. Upon the termination or expiration of the lease agreement, the certificate holder shall
reimburse the independent contractor the amount of the security deposit and-any-interest-acerued-by
the-security-depesit-minus the costs of repairs made to the taxicab pursuant to subsection-43 if any,

or monles owed to the certlflcate holder if any +f—theeest—ef—thetepawseexeeeelsthe—ameemt—ef—the

43 A certlflcate holder who at the termination or explratlon of the Iease agreement retalns any
amount from the security deposit authorized by this section must, within 30 days after the completion
of any repairs made to the taxicab, provide the independent contractor with an itemized list of any
repairs made to the taxicab and copies of receipts for such repairs in an amount equal to the amount
that was retained.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.556 Copy of lease agreement to be provided to independent contractor; duty of
independent contractor; Authority may order withdrawal of taxicab from service for certain
violations. (NRS 706.88181)

1. A certificate holder who enters into a lease agreement with an independent contractor
pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, shall provide the independent contractor with a
copy of the lease agreement.

2. An independent contractor shall keep a copy of the lease agreement provided pursuant to
subsection 1 in the taxicab that is the subject of the lease agreement for the duration of the lease
agreement.

3. If the Authority determines that a taxicab that is the subject of a lease agreement is being
operated in violation of this section, the Authority may order the independent contractor to withdraw
the taxicab from service. A taxicab withdrawn from service pursuant to this subsection may not be
placed back into service by the independent contractor until the independent contractor provides
evidence sufficient to the Authority that the lease agreement is in the taxicab as required by
subsection 2.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)
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NAC 706.5561 Required maintenance of records of lease agreement by certificate
holder. (NRS 706.88181)

1. A certificate holder who leases a taxicab to an independent contractor pursuant to NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, must, for a period of not less than 3 years after the termination or
expiration of the lease agreement, maintain records pertaining to the lease agreement and the taxicab
that is the subject of the lease agreement, including, without limitation:

(a) A copy of the signed lease agreement;

(b) All records evidencing and pertaining to the insurance required by NRS 706.8828;

(c) All records evidencing registration and maintenance of the taxicab;

(d) A copy of the driver’s permit and medical examiner’s certificate of the independent
contractor; and

(e) Any other records required to be maintained by the Authority pursuant to its authority
under NRS 706.8829 and 706.883.

2. Therecords required by subsection 1 are in addition to, and must be maintained in accordance
with, the requirements of NRS 706.8829 and 706.883 and NAC 706.651.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5563 Independent contractor: Frip-sheets;_trip_information; —collection and
remittance of taxes and fees. (NRS 706.88181) An independent contractor who leases a taxicab
pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, shall:

1. Submit a-daily trip-sheet trip information as required by NRS 706.8844 to the certificate
holder not less than once every 24 hours after the date on which the independent contractor begins
operating the taxicab.

2. Collect all applicable taxes and all applicable fees required pursuant to NRS 706.8826 from
each passenger. All money collected pursuant to this subsection must be remitted to the certificate
holder pursuant to the terms of the lease agreement.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5565 Lease medallions. (NRS 706.88181)

1. A certificate holder may not lease a taxicab to an independent contractor pursuant to NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, unless a lease medallion obtained from the Authority is affixed to
the taxicab_or is digitally stored in the taxicab.

2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Authority will issue a lease medallion to a
certificate holder upon request.

3. A certificate holder may not:

~{b)(a) Permit the combined operation by drivers and independent contractors of more taxicabs
than the number of taxicabs allocated to the certificate holder by the Authority pursuant to NRS
706.8824; or

~e}(b) Sell, transfer or mortgage a lease medallion issued pursuant to this section.

4. A lease medallion obtained pursuant to this section must be affixed to a taxicab or be digitally
available in a taxicab being leased by an independent contractor in such a manner and in such a place
on the taxicab as directed by the Authority.

5. If a lease medallion is lost, stolen or damaged, the certificate holder to whom the lease
medallion was issued:
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(a) Shall notify the Authority within 3 business days; and

(b) May request that the Authority provide the certificate holder with a replacement lease
medallion. A replacement lease medallion will only be available from the Authority during the
regular business hours of the Authority.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5567 Independent contractor: Deemed to be on duty for certain purposes;
subject to certain provisions governing motor carriers and drivers; required documents. (NRS
706.88181) An independent contractor who operates a taxicab which has been leased from a
certificate holder pursuant to NAC 706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive:

1. Will be deemed by the Authority to be on duty for the purposes of NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive.

2. Is subject to the applicable provisions of this chapter and chapter 706 of NRS, including,
without limitation, all of the provisions of NRS 706.881 to 706.885, inclusive, which apply to a
driver, as that term is defined in NRS 706.8814.

3. Must have on his or her person:

(a) A valid driver’s license obtained under the provisions of NRS 483.010 to 483.630, inclusive;

(b) A driver’s permit issued by the Administrator pursuant to NRS 706.8841; and

(c) A copy of the medical examiner’s certificate obtained pursuant to NRS 706.8842.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.5569 Violations. (NRS 706.88181) A violation of any provision of NAC
706.5551 to 706.5569, inclusive, is subject to the provisions of NRS 706.885.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R003-16, eff. 12-21-2016)
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SUBSIDIZED TRANSPORTATION BY TAXICAB

NAC 706.857 Definitions. (NRS 427A.070) Asused in NAC 706.857 to 706.870, inclusive,

unless the context otherwise requires, the words and terms defined in NAC 706.8572 to 706.8578,

inclusive, have the meanings ascribed to them in those sections.
(Added to NAC by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, eff. 9-14-2012)

NAC 706.8572 “Applicant” defined. (NRS 427A.070) “Applicant” means a person who
applies to participate in the program.
(Added to NAC by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, eff. 9-14-2012)

NAC 706.8574 “Division” defined. (NRS 427A.070) “Division” means the Aging and
Disability Services Division of the Department of Health and Human Services.
(Added to NAC by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, eff. 9-14-2012)

NAC 706.8576 “Participant” defined. (NRS 427A.070) ‘“Participant” means a person
whose application to participate in the program has been approved by the Division pursuant to NAC
706.861.

(Added to NAC by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, eff. 9-14-2012)

NAC 706.8578 “Program” defined. (NRS 427A.070) “Program” means the program to
subsidize transportation for elderly persons and persons with permanent disabilities created pursuant
to NAC 706.858.

(Added to NAC by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, eff. 9-14-2012)

NAC 706.858 Creation of program; use of money received from balance of Taxicab
Authority Fund. (NRS 427A.070) A program to subsidize transportation for elderly persons and
persons with permanent disabilities is hereby created. The money received by the Division pursuant
to subsection 5 of NRS 706.8825 will be used by the Division to reimburse holders of a certificate
for the coupons or other methods of currency exchange made available by the Division which are
purchased by participants pursuant to the provisions of NAC 706.864 and used for transportation by
taxicab.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 5 Rule 101, eff. 2-5-82] — (NAC A 6-13-86; 10-13-88; 3-7-90;
A by Aging Services Div., 1-10-97; A by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, 9-14-2012,;
R027-14, 10-24-2014)

NAC 706.861 Application to participate in program; eligibility. (NRS 427A.070)
1. Arresident of this State who desires to participate in the program must submit an application
to the Division on a form prescribed by the Division. To the extent that money is available for that
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purpose, the Division will approve the application of a person who it determines is eligible to
participate in the program pursuant to subsection 2.

2. To be eligible to participate in the program, an applicant must demonstrate:

(a) That he or she is at least 60 years of age or permanently disabled by a physical or mental
condition that materially limits or contributes to limiting his or her activities or functioning by
submitting the proof described in subsection 3;

(b) That he or she is a resident of this State by providing proof of his or her domicile, which may
include proof of residency for voting, a bill from a utility, an affidavit of residency or any other form
of proof approved by the Division; and

(c) That his or her annual gross income meets the requirements set forth in subsection 4.

3. To establish that he or she meets either requirement set forth in paragraph (a) of subsection
2, an applicant must submit proof of:

(a) Age, which may include any recognized form of identification containing a picture of the
holder, a certificate of birth, baptism or marriage or any other form of proof approved by the Division;
or

(b) Disability, which may include:

(1) A certificate from a physician;

(2) A certificate from the Bureau of Services to Persons Who Are Blind or Visually Impaired
or the Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation of the Rehabilitation Division of the Department of
Employment, Training and Rehabilitation, the Nevada Association for the Handicapped or
Opportunity Village; or

(3) Any other form of proof approved by the Division.

4. An applicant must demonstrate that his or her annual gross income is not more than 400
percent of the federally designated level signifying poverty for the size of family applicable to the
person, as determined by the United States Department of Health and Human Services and published
annually in the Federal Register. The Division will administer the program based upon the guidelines
identified by the United States Department of Health and Human Services for the determination of
income and other factors relating to the federally designated level signifying poverty.

5. To determine the annual gross income of an applicant, any income received from a source
identified in NAC 427A.408 must be subtracted from the total amount of income received by the
applicant.

6. All income, except income excluded pursuant to subsection 5, must be verified, documented
and counted in determining the eligibility or continued eligibility of an applicant or participant.

7. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the approval of an application by the Division
to participate in the program pursuant to this section is valid for 1 year, and the participant may
reapply for participation in the program by submitting an application in the same manner as the
original application. A participant whose annual gross income increases such that the participant is
no longer eligible to participate in the program pursuant to subsection 4 must immediately notify the
Division. Such a participant may reapply for the program if he or she becomes eligible by submitting
an application in the same manner as the original application.

8. As used in this section, “household income” means the income received by an applicant and
the spouse of the applicant, if applicable.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 5 Rule 102, eff. 2-5-82] — (NAC A 6-13-86; 10-13-88; 3-7-90;
A by Aging Services Div., 1-10-97; A by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, 9-14-2012;
R027-14, 10-24-2014)
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NAC 706.864 Coupons and other methods of currency exchange. (NRS 427A.070)

1. The Division will make available for purchase by participants coupons or other methods of
currency exchange, including, without limitation, cards for electronic benefits transfer.

2. The Division will consider the limits of money available for the purpose of the program and
the number of persons eligible for or participating in the program and may adjust the purchase price
or quantity of available coupons or other methods of currency exchange as a result thereof.

3. A coupon or other method of currency exchange made available by the Division may be used
to purchase service by a taxicab in the same manner as currency of the United States.

4. Certificate holders and their drivers shall accept the coupons or other methods of currency
exchange made available by the Division in the same manner as currency of the United States.

5. The Division will reimburse a participating holder of a certificate for each authentic coupon
or other method of currency exchange made available by the Division submitted to the Division by
the holder.

6. A coupon or other method of currency exchange made available by the Division is not
refundable and is void after the date of expiration printed on it.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 5 Rule 103, eff. 2-5-82] — (NAC A 6-13-86; 10-13-88; A by
Aging Services Div., 1-10-97; A by Aging & Disability Services Div. by R017-12, 9-14-2012; R027-
14, 10-24-2014)

NAC 706.870 Misuse of coupons or other method of currency exchange. (NRS 427A.070)

1. Any participant who:

(a) Obtains coupons or other methods of currency exchange made available by the Division by
means of a false statement; or

(b) Transfers or sells coupons or other methods of currency exchange made available by the
Division to any other person,
= may not purchase additional coupons or other methods of currency exchange made available by
the Division for 1 year after the time of the infraction.

2. A taxicab driver shall not:

(a) Present any coupon or other method of currency exchange made available by the Division to
the taxicab driver’s employer for payment which was not given to him or her by a participant in
exchange for transportation.

(b) Fail to endorse the taxicab driver’s name and permit number on the reverse of any coupon or
other method of currency exchange made available by the Division, if applicable, presented to his or
her employer for payment.

[Taxicab Auth., Gen. Order No. 5 Rule 105, eff. 2-5-82] — (NAC A 10-13-88; A by Aging &
Disability Services Div. by R017-12, 9-14-2012; R027-14, 10-24-2014)
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PRACTICE BEFORE TAXICAB AUTHORITY

General Provisions

NAC 706.876 Scope and construction; deviation from rules. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. NAC 706.876 to 706.990, inclusive:

(a) Govern all practice and procedure before the Taxicab Authority and the Administrator unless
otherwise directed by the Authority or Administrator.

(b) Must be liberally construed to secure just, speedy and economical determination of all issues
presented to the Authority.

2. Incases, where good cause appears, not contrary to statute, the Administrator or the Authority
may permit deviation from the rules if it finds compliance impracticable or unnecessary.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 1, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A by R064-02, 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.879 Office  open during regular business hours; meetings;
communications. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818, 706.88181)

1. The office of the Administrator will be open during regular business hours.

2. Regular sessions of the Authority are held in its principal office or such other place as the
Authority may from time to time specify, at such times as the Authority may designate.

3. All formal written communications and documents must be addressed to the Taxicab
Authority and not to individual members of the Authority or its staff. All communications and
documents are deemed to be officially received only when delivered at the office of the Authority.
Formal or informal communications from the Authority must be signed by the responsible staff
member or Authority.

4. Communications must contain the name and address of the communicant and must embrace
but one subject. Informal communications must be properly identified.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 2, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88; A by R057-11, 5-30-2012;
R003-16, 12-21-2016)

NAC 706.882 Computation of time. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The time within which any
act must be done, as provided in NAC 706.876 to 706.975, inclusive, must be computed by excluding
the first day and including the last.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 13, eff. 7-1-70]

Parties

NAC 706.885 Classification of parties. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Parties to proceedings before the Authority must be entitled applicant, complainant,
respondent;_or intervener or interested—party according to the nature of the proceedings and the
relationship of the parties thereto as follows:

(a) The applicant is any person or persons applying or petitioning for any right or authority.

(b) The complainant is any person or persons who complain to the Authority of any act or of any
person.

(c) The respondent is any person or persons against whom any proceeding is brought or an
investigation initiated.

(d) The intervener is any person or persons permitted to intervene pursuant to NAC 706.894.
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whose participation will be limited to submitting written comments.

23. The Authority’s staff may be any member of the Authority, the Administrator or his or her
assistant. If counsel is desired, the Attorney General will represent the staff. Members of the
Authority’s staff have all rights of participation as a party to the proceeding.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 3, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.888 Appearances. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Atany hearing, all parties named in NAC 706.885, except interested parties, are entitled to
enter an appearance, to introduce evidence, examine and cross-examine witnesses, make arguments,
and generally participate in the conduct of the proceeding. Interested parties who are or may be
directly and substantially affected by the proceeding may enter an appearance, introduce evidence
and, subject to the discretion of the Authority, may otherwise participate in the conduct of the
proceeding.

2. Parties shall enter their appearance at the beginning of a hearing or at any time as may be
designated by the presiding officer by giving their names and addresses and stating their position or
interest in writing to the clerk-reporter who will include the same in the transcript of the hearing. The
presiding officer may require appearances to be stated orally, so that the identity and interest of all
parties present will be known to those at the hearing.

3. Appearances and representation of parties must be made as follows:

(a) A party is entitled to be heard in person or by his or her attorney.

(b) A copartnership may appear and be represented by a copartner.

(c) A corporation may appear and be represented by a corporate officer or authorized regular
employee of the corporation.

(d) Any governmental entity within Clark County may appear and be represented by an
authorized officer, agent or employee of the entity.

(e) An attorney appearing as counsel in any proceeding shall be an attorney at law, admitted to
practice and in good standing before the highest court of Nevada. If such attorney is not admitted and
entitled to practice before the Supreme Court of Nevada, an attorney so admitted and entitled to
practice must be associated.

4. All notices and orders must be served upon the representative entering an appearance for the
party represented.

5. No former employee of the Authority or member of the Attorney General’s staff may appear
as a witness or expert witness before the Authority in any proceeding on behalf of other parties
without the permission of the Authority.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 4 88 4.1-4.4 & 4.7, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.891 W.ithdrawal of attorney. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) Any attorney of record
wishing to withdraw from a proceeding shall, in writing, immediately notify the Authority, or the
presiding officer and the party whom he or she represented.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 4 § 4.5, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.894 Intervention. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)
1. Persons, other than the original parties to the proceeding, who are directly and substantially
affected by the proceeding, shall serve notice on the Authority or Administrator, of their intention to
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intervene by submitting a clear and concise statement, in writing, of the interest of the applicant in
such proceeding, outlining the matters and things relied upon by the applicant as basis for his or her
request, together with a statement as to the nature of evidence the applicant will present and the
position the applicant will take.

2. Notice to intervene must be filed with the Authority or Administrator 15 days before the
commencement of hearing. If filed thereafter, the petition must state a substantial reason for the
delay; otherwise the petition will not be considered.

3. If a notice of intervention shows direct and substantial interest in the subject matter of the
proceeding or any part thereof and does not unduly broaden the issues, the Authority, presiding
officer or Administrator may grant leave to intervene or otherwise appear in the proceeding with
respect to the matters set out in the intervening notice. If it appears during the course of a proceeding
that an intervener has no direct or substantial interest or the public interest does not require his or her
participation therein, the Authority, presiding officer or Administrator may dismiss the intervener
from the proceeding.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 5, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.897 Conduct required. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) A person appearing in a
proceeding shall conform to the recognized standards of ethical and courteous conduct. All parties to
hearings, their counsel and spectators will conduct themselves in a respectful manner.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 4 § 4.6 + Rule 9 § 9.6, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

Pleadings, Motions and Other Papers

NAC 706.900 Pleadings generally. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Pleadings must be typewritten, mimeographed or printed, properly identify the proceeding by
title, and set forth a clear and concise statement of the matters relied upon as a basis for the pleading,
together with an appropriate prayer when relief is sought and must be signed by the appropriate
authorized party, officer or attorney.

2. Upon the filing of any pleading, it will be inspected by the Authority and if found to be
defective or insufficient, it may be returned to the party filing it for correction.

3. The Authority may allow any pleading to be amended or corrected or any omission to be
supplied.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 6 88 6.1-6.5, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.903 Applications generally. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) All pleadings requesting
aright or authority from the Authority must be styled “applications.” They must contain the full name
and address of the applicant, and describe fully the facts upon which the application is based, with
such exhibits as may be required, and a request for the order, authorization, certificate or permit
desired. The application must be signed by the applicant.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 6 § 6.6, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.906 Applications for certificates. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Applicants for a certificate shall, in addition to complying with the provisions of NAC
706.876 to 706.975, inclusive, applicable to all pleadings, submit the following data, either in the
application or as exhibits attached to it:
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(a) Ifthe applicantis a partnership, a list of the individual names of all the partners. If the applicant
IS a corporation, a list of the directors, officers and stockholders, showing their percentage of
ownership.

(b) Facts showing that the application is or will be required by the public convenience and
necessity.

(c) A full description of the territories to be served.

(d) A suitable map depicting the territories to be served.

(e) All other data necessary for a complete understanding of the application.

(F) A current financial statement of applicant.

(g) If operating under a fictitious name, a certificate from the county clerk to so operate.

(h) Description of all equipment to be operated in proposed service.

2. A nonrefundable fee of $200 must accompany an application for a certificate.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 14, eff. 7-1-70; A 12-19-75] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.909 Applications for change of rates or rules. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)
Applications by any taxicab company to increase any rate, fare or charge or rule or regulation
resulting in any increase must, in addition to complying with the provisions of NAC
706.876 to 706.975, inclusive, applicable to all pleadings, submit the following data, either in the
application or attached to it as an exhibit:

1. A statement showing in full the rates or fares, rules or regulations requested to be put into
effect or the general relief asked for.

2. A statement or reference showing in full the rates or fares, rules or regulations which will be
superseded by the proposed rates.

3. A complete and accurate statement of the circumstances and conditions relied upon as
justification for the application.

4. A reference record to prior action if any by the Authority in any proceeding relative to the
existing and proposed rates.

5. A financial statement for a full 12-month period including a balance sheet and a profit and
loss statement; or in any application filed by or on behalf of a group of companies as parties to a
tariff, composite financial statements for all or a representative group of companies involved for a
full 12-month period, and a composite and representative profit and loss statement.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 15, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.912 Miscellaneous applications for relief. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) When the
subject matter of any desired relief is not specifically covered by NAC 706.876 to 706.975, inclusive,
an application seeking such relief and stating the reason for it may be filed, and will be handled in
the same manner as other applications.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 6 8§ 6.7, 6.8 & 6.13, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.921 Filing and service. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Anoriginal and nine legible copies of all pleadings must be filed with the Authority. Copies
must be served on all applicants, complainants, respondents and interveners. The Authority may
direct that a copy of any pleading or other papers designated by the Authority be made available by
the party filing same to any person whom the Authority determines may be affected by the proceeding
and who desires copies of the pleadings.

2. All notices, findings of fact, opinions and orders required to be served by the Authority and
all documents filed by any party may be served by mail and service shall be deemed complete when
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a true copy of the paper or document, properly addressed and stamped, is deposited in the United
States mail.

3. There must appear on all documents required to be served an acknowledgment of service or
the following certificate:

| hereby certify that | have this day served the foregoing document upon all parties of record in

this proceeding (by delivering a copy thereof in personto ............cccccve.e. or by mailing a copy
thereof, properly addressed, with postage prepaid, to............c..cc........ ). Dated at ................... , this
......... (day) of .................(month) of .........(year)

Signature

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 7, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)
Complaints Against Certificate Holders

NAC 706.922 Procedure upon receipt of oral complaint. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. The staff of the Authority may attempt to resolve an oral complaint against a certificate holder
that it receives from a member of the general public. If the complainant is not satisfied with the
resolution of the oral complaint, the staff shall notify the complainant that he or she may file a written
complaint with the staff of the Authority.

2. The staff of the Authority may require a complainant to provide a written confirmation of an
oral complaint.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.9222 Form and accompanying documents; record; letter of acknowledgment;
service upon certificate holder. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. A written complaint must:

(a) Clearly and concisely state the grounds of the complaint and the facts constituting the alleged
wrongful act or omission; and

(b) Be accompanied by copies of all supporting documents.

2. The staff of the Authority shall maintain a record of each written complaint, including,
without limitation:

(a) Each relevant fact relating to the origin, nature and basis of the complaint;

(b) A description of each action that the complainant has taken or attempted to take to resolve the
complaint;

(c) The response of the certificate holder to the complaint, including copies of supporting
documents, if any; and

(d) Any other information the staff considers relevant to the resolution of the complaint.

3. The staff of the Authority shall:

(@) Within 10 days after receiving a written complaint, send a letter of acknowledgment to the
complainant.

(b) Within 20 days after receiving a written complaint, serve a copy of the complaint upon the
certificate holder against whom the complaint is made and require the certificate holder to file a
response to the complaint with the staff.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)
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NAC 706.9224 Response. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. A certificate holder against whom a written complaint is made shall file with the staff of the
Authority a written response to the complaint within 15 days after receiving the complaint unless, for
good cause shown, the staff extends the time for responding.

2. The response must include:

(a) A statement that the respondent has resolved the complaint; or

(b) If the complaint has not been resolved, a detailed admission or denial of each material
allegation of the complaint and a full statement of the facts and matters of law relied upon as a
defense.

3. The response must:

(a) Be signed by the respondent or, if represented, by the attorney or other authorized
representative.

(b) Include the full name, address and telephone number of the respondent and, if represented,
the name, address and telephone number of the attorney or other authorized representative of the
respondent.

4. If the respondent fails to file a response with the staff of the Authority within the time
prescribed in subsection 1, the staff shall place the matter before the Authority for a determination of
whether probable cause exists for the written complaint. An unexcused failure of the respondent to
respond to the complaint within the time prescribed in subsection 1 shall be deemed an admission by
the respondent of all relevant facts stated in the complaint.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.9226 Investigation and recommended actions for resolution. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818)

1. If the staff of the Authority receives a response to a written complaint, the staff shall examine
the complaint, the response and any other information the staff has obtained that is necessary for the
resolution of the complaint.

2. After completing an investigation of the matter set forth in the written complaint, the staff of
the Authority shall notify all parties of the results of the investigation and shall recommend any
actions that the parties should take to resolve the complaint.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.9228 Submission of unresolved complaint to Authority for review. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818)

1. If the staff of the Authority cannot resolve the complaint because the staff determines that the
complaint cannot be resolved or the complainant is not satisfied with the recommendation of the
staff, the staff shall notify all parties that it will submit the complaint to the Authority for review.

2. In addition to transmitting the complaint, the results of its investigation and its
recommendation to the Authority, the staff of the Authority shall submit:

(@) The reasons for the complaint;

(b) The position taken by the respondent; and

(c) Any interim action taken by the staff.
= The staff shall provide the additional information to the complainant and respondent.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.923 Determination by  Authority to dismiss complaint. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818) If the Authority determines that no probable cause exists for a written
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complaint or the complaint has been resolved and the Authority has received a notice of the resolution

of the complaint, the Authority will dismiss the complaint. The Authority will serve upon the

complainant and respondent a copy of the entry in the minutes of the Authority indicating the

dismissal of the complaint by the Authority and a brief statement of the reasons for the dismissal.
(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.9232 Determination of probable cause; actions by Authority. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818) If the Authority determines that probable cause exists for a written complaint,
the Authority may:

1. Set a date for a hearing on the complaint; or

2. Order appropriate relief.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth. by R064-02, eff. 7-31-2002)

Hearings

NAC 706.924 Notice of hearings. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Hearings will be held before the Authority or Administrator as prescribed by law. Notice of
hearing before the Authority or Administrator will be served on all parties at least 20 days before the
hearing, indicating the purpose, place, date and hour of the hearing.

2. All hearings before the Authority which encompass rates, certificates or transfer of any
existing Authority vested in any person or corporation to operate a taxicab business will be noticed
by publication and mailing.

3. Thenotice will be published one time not less than 20 days before the day fixed for the hearing
in one newspaper of general circulation in Clark County, Nevada.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 §8 9.1-9.3, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-
2002)

NAC 706.927 Continuances. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The Authority, presiding officer
or Administrator may, either before the hearing or during a hearing, and on proper showing, grant
continuances for submission of further or additional proof of any subject matter.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 8 9.18, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.930 Failure to appear. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Atthe time and place set for hearing, if a party to the proceeding fails to appear, the Authority
or Administrator may dismiss the action with or without prejudice or may, upon good cause shown,
recess the hearing for a further period to be set by the Authority to enable the applicant, petitioner or
complainant to attend.

2. At the time and place set for hearing, if a respondent fails to appear the Authority or
Administrator may suspend or revoke the certificate or permit with or without prejudice or may, upon
good cause shown, recess the hearing for a further period to be set by the Authority or Administrator
to enable the respondent to attend.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.4, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.933 Prehearing conference. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. The Authority, presiding officer or Administrator may, upon written notice to all parties of
record, hold a prehearing conference for the purposes of formulating or simplifying the issues,
obtaining admissions of fact and of documents which will avoid unnecessary proof, arranging for the
exchange of proposed exhibits or prepared expert testimony, limit the number of witnesses and
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consolidate the examination of witnesses, establish procedure at the hearing and resolve other matters
that may expedite orderly conduct and the disposition of the proceedings or settlements.

2. The action taken at the conference and the agreements made by the parties concerned must
be made a part of the record and will control the course of subsequent proceedings, unless modified
at the hearing by the presiding officer.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 8, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.936 Subpoenas; depositions. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Subpoenas requiring the attendance of a witness from any place in the State to any designated
place of hearing for the purpose of taking testimony of the witness orally before the Authority or
Administrator, may be issued by any member of the Authority or the Administrator upon application
in writing. Subpoenas for the production of books, papers, accounts or other documents, unless
directed to issue by the Authority or Administrator on their own motion, will be issued only upon
application in writing, which application must specify, as clearly as may be, the books, papers,
accounts or other documents desired. The Authority, presiding officer or Administrator, upon motion
made promptly and, in any event, at or before the time specified in the subpoena for compliance may:

(a) Quash the subpoena if it is unreasonable or oppressive; or

(b) Condition denial of the motion upon the advancement by the person in whose behalf the
subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing the books, papers, accounts or other
documents desired.

2. The Authority, Administrator or any party to any proceeding before them may cause the
depositions of witnesses to be taken in the manner prescribed by law and rule of court for depositions
in civil actions.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.16, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.939 Testimony under oath. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) All testimony to be
considered by the Authority or Administrator in formal hearings, except matters noticed officially or
entered by stipulation, must be sworn testimony. Before taking the witness stand, each person shall
swear, or affirm, that the testimony he or she is about to give in the hearing before the Authority or
Administrator is the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.7, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.942 Preliminary procedure. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The presiding member
of the Authority or the Administrator shall call the proceeding for hearing and proceed to take the
appearances, and act upon any pending motions, petitions or complaints. The parties may then make
opening statements as they may desire.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.1, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.945 Presentation of evidence. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. Applicants or complainants shall present their evidence and such parties as may be opposing
the application or complaint, shall submit their proof. The presiding officer of the Authority or
Administrator shall determine the order in which parties introduce their evidence. Interveners shall,
as far as possible, follow the party with respect to whom intervention is made. If the intervention is
not in support of either original party, the presiding officer shall designate at which stage the
interveners will be heard.

2. Evidence will ordinarily be received in the following order:

(a) Upon applications:
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(1) Applicant;
(2) Authority staff;
(3) Interveners; and
(4) Rebuttal by applicant.
(b) Upon written complaints:
(1) Complainant;
(2) Respondent;
(3) Authority staff; and
(4) Rebuttal by complainant.
(c) Upon complaints or orders to show cause by the Authority or Administrator:
(1) Authority;
(2) Respondent; and
(3) Rebuttal by the Authority staff.
3. The procedure described in subsection 2 may be modified at the discretion of the Authority’s
presiding officer or Administrator.
[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.8, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-2002)

NAC 706.948 Rules and types of evidence. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. In conducting any investigation, inquiry or hearing, neither the Authority nor any of its
officers or employees are bound by the technical rules of evidence, and no informality in any
proceeding or in the manner of taking of testimony will invalidate any order, decision, rule or
regulation made, approved or confirmed by the Authority or Administrator. Rules of evidence before
the courts of Nevada will be generally followed but may be relaxed in the discretion of the Authority,
presiding officer or Administrator when deviation from the technical rules of evidence will aid in
ascertaining the facts.

2. A copy of each documentary exhibit must be furnished to each party of record present, and
nine additional copies must be furnished for the use of the Authority. Where relevant and material
matter offered in evidence is embraced in a written or printed statement, book or document of any
kind containing other matter not material or relevant and not intended to be put in evidence, such
statement, book or document in whole must not be received or allowed to be filed, but counsel and
other parties offering it must present in convenient and proper form for filing, a copy of such material
and relevant matter, or at the discretion of the presiding officer, read it into the record, and that only
will be received and allowed to be filed as evidence and made part of the record. Whenever
practicable, the parties should interchange copies of exhibits before, or after the commencement of
the hearing. Any documentary evidence offered, whether in the form of exhibit or introduced by
reference, is subject to appropriate and timely objection.

3. With the approval of the presiding officer, a witness may read into the record his or her
testimony on direct examination. Before any prepared testimony is read, unless excused by the
presiding officer, the witness shall deliver copies thereof to the presiding officer, the reporter and all
counsel or parties. Admissibility is subject to the rules governing oral testimony. If the presiding
officer deems that a substantial saving in time will result and where the parties so agree, prepared
testimony may be copied into the record without reading, provided that the copies have been served
upon all parties and the Authority 5 days before the hearing or that such prior service is waived. All
parties and the Authority staff shall be prepared for cross-examination with respect to direct
testimony upon its presentation for the record, whether such testimony is delivered orally, read into
the record or copied into the record in accordance with this section.
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4. Resolutions properly authenticated of the governing bodies of cities, towns, counties, and
other municipal corporations, and of chambers of commerce, boards of trade, commercial,
mercantile, agricultural, or manufacturing societies and other civic organizations will be received in
evidence if offered at the hearing by the president, secretary or other proper person. Such resolutions
will be received subject to rebuttal by adversely affected parties as to either the authenticity of the
resolution or the circumstances surrounding its procurement. Recitals of fact contained in resolutions
are not proof of those facts, and resolutions may only be received for the limited purpose of showing
the expression of the official action of the resolving body with respect to the matter under
consideration in the proceeding.

5. When a party desires to offer in evidence any portion of the oral testimony, exhibits, order,
decision or record in any other proceeding before the Authority or Administrator, such portion must
be plainly designated in the record and, if admitted, shall be deemed to be a part of the oral testimony
in the immediate proceeding without physical production and marking for identification.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 part § 9.12, 88 9.13-9.15 & 9.22, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-
88)

NAC 706.951 Consolidation; limitation on number of interested parties. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818)

1. The Authority or Administrator may consolidate two or more proceedings in any one hearing
when it appears that the issues are substantially the same and that the rights of the parties will not be
prejudiced by the hearing. At a consolidated hearing, the presiding officer of the Authority or the
Administrator shall determine the order in which all the parties introduce their evidence.

2. Where two or more interested parties have substantially like interests and positions, the
presiding officer of the Authority or Administrator may at any time during the hearing, if he or she
deems it advisable in order to expedite the hearing, limit the number of interested parties who will
be permitted to testify.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 8§ 9.9 & 9.10, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.954 Stipulations. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) With the approval of the presiding
officer, the parties may stipulate as to any fact at issue. Any such stipulation is binding upon all
parties so stipulating and may be regarded by the Authority or Administrator as evidence at the
hearing. The Authority or Administrator may require proof by evidence of the facts stipulated to,
notwithstanding the stipulation of the parties.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.11, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.957 Official notice. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The Authority or Administrator
may take official notice of the following matters:

1. Rules, regulations, official reports, decisions and orders of the Authority and any regulatory
agency of the State of Nevada.

2. Contents of decisions, orders, certificates and permits issued by the Authority or
Administrator.

3. Matters of common knowledge and technical or scientific facts of established character.

4. Official documents, if pertinent, when properly introduced into the record of formal
proceedings by reference. Proper and definite reference to such document must be made by the party
offering the document and the document must be published and generally circulated so that an
opportunity is given to all of the parties of interest at the hearing to examine the document and present
rebuttal evidence.
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[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.21, eff. 7-1-70]

NAC 706.960 Objections; exceptions; offer of proof; rulings. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. When objection is made to the admissibility of evidence, such evidence may be received
subject to later ruling by the Authority, presiding officer or Administrator. When objections are made
to the admission or exclusion of evidence, the grounds relied upon must be stated briefly. Formal
exceptions to rulings are unnecessary and need not be taken.

2. An offer of proof for the record must consist of a statement of the substance of the evidence
to which objection has been sustained.

3. The presiding officer shall rule on the admissibility of all evidence, subject to the
requirements of subsection 1. Such rulings may be reviewed by the Authority or Administrator in
determining the matter on its merits. In extraordinary circumstances, where prompt decision by a
member of the Authority or Administrator is necessary to promote substantial justice, the presiding
officer may refer the matter to the Authority for determination.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 part § 9.12 & 88 9.25-9.27, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.963 Briefs; oral argument. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. In any hearing, the Authority or Administrator may order briefs to be filed within the time
allowed by the Authority or Administrator. Nine copies of briefs must be filed with the Authority
when the hearing is before the Authority and two copies with the Administrator when the hearing is
before him or her. They must be accompanied by an acknowledgment or an affidavit showing service
on other parties of record.

2. The Authority or Administrator may in their discretion, following the filing of briefs or upon
contested motions, set the matter for oral argument. Ten days’ notice must be given to all parties of
record, unless the Authority or Administrator deems a shorter time advisable.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 88 9.19 & 9.20, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.966 Decisions and orders. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. A proceeding stands submitted for decision by the Authority or Administrator after the taking
of evidence or the filing of briefs or the presentation of oral argument as may have been prescribed
by the Authority or Administrator, unless otherwise specifically approved.

2. Orders of the Authority or Administrator must be served by the Administrator by mailing
copies of them to the parties of record or their representatives or by personal service. Copies of orders
served on applicants, complainants and respondents must be signed on behalf of the Authority or
Administrator by an authorized officer.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 10, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

NAC 706.969 Transcripts; attendance charges, per diem and travel expenses. (NRS
233B.050, 706.8818)

1. The Authority or Administrator will cause a record to be made of all public hearings. A person
who wishes to obtain a copy of a transcript may obtain a copy from the official reporter or the
Authority upon payment of the fee fixed for a copy, as approved by the Authority or Administrator.

2. If an official reporter is used for a public hearing, the ordinary attendance charges, per diem
and travel expenses and charges for copies of the transcript required by the Authority or
Administrator for his or her purposes will be paid by the moving party.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 9 § 9.24, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88; R064-02, 7-31-2002)

63


https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec050
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec050
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec050
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec050
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec050
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-706.html#NRS706Sec8818

NAC 706.972 Rehearings. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. An application for a rehearing must be filed with the Administrator not later than 30 days
after the effective date of the order upon which rehearing is requested.

2. Rehearings will be conducted in accordance with the procedure at regular hearings, subject
to the discretion of the Authority or Administrator.

3. The filing of a petition for rehearing does not excuse compliance with the order nor suspend
the effectiveness of such order unless otherwise ordered-by the Authority, presiding officer, or
Administrator upon a showing of good cause.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 11, eff. 7-1-70] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

Appeals

NAC 706.975 Appeals to Authority. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. An appeal from the decision of the Administrator or hearing officer to the Authority is
permitted providing that the notice of appeal by the appellant is filed with the Administrator within
30 days of the decision of the Administrator or hearing officer.

2. Petitions for appeal must set forth the ground or grounds upon which the appellant considers
the order, decision, rule, direction or regulation to be unreasonable, unlawful, erroneous or not in
conformity with the law. The appellant shall include in the appeal a copy of the transcript from the
contested hearing.

3. Copies of the notice of appeal must be served upon the Administrator and all of the parties of
record.

[Taxicab Auth., Practice Rule 12, eff. 12-19-75] — (NAC A 10-13-88)

Declaratory Orders and Advisory Opinions

NAC 706.980 Consideration of applications. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The Authority
will consider applications for declaratory orders or advisory opinions concerning the applicability of
any statutory provision or any regulation or decision of the Authority.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)

NAC 706.982 Procedure for consideration of applications. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. If the Authority receives an application for a declaratory order or advisory opinion at least 10
days before its next regularly scheduled meeting, the Authority will place the application on the
agenda of the meeting to either grant or deny the application.

2. If the Authority denies the application, no further action will be taken.

3. If the Authority grants the application, the Authority will issue its declaratory order or
advisory opinion within 60 days after granting the application, or within 120 days if good cause exists
for an extended period of consideration. The Authority may schedule a hearing on the application
which constitutes sufficient cause to warrant an extension on the issue raised in the application.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)

NAC 706.984 Draft of opinion or order by Administrator. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)
After the Authority determines that an issue concerning the applicability of a statute, regulation or
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decision should be addressed, the presiding officer shall direct the Administrator to write an order or
opinion. Within 30 days thereafter, the Administrator shall:

1. Review comments by all members of the Authority on the issue;

2. Research the issue and, if necessary, seek the assistance of the Attorney General; and

3. Submit a draft of the order or the opinion to the Authority for its approval.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)

NAC 706.986 Notice of decision. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) After the Authority renders its
declaratory order or advisory opinion, the Administrator shall give notice of the decision to the
applicant.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)

NAC 706.988 Violation of opinion or order prohibited. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818) The
holder of a certificate or permit may not violate any declaratory order or advisory opinion rendered
by the Authority.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)

Applications for Adoption, Amendment or Repeal of Regulations

NAC 706.990 Procedure for consideration of application. (NRS 233B.050, 706.8818)

1. An application to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation must be in writing and prepared in a
form approved by the Authority.

2. Ifthe Authority receives an application to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation at least 30 days
before its next regularly scheduled meeting, the Authority will place the application on the agenda of
the meeting to either deny the application or commence procedures to adopt, amend or repeal the
regulation.

(Added to NAC by Taxicab Auth., eff. 10-13-88)
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