DID YOU KNOW	
• Diversion	Taxicab drivers are not permitted to divert a passenger from their original destination.
Driver Permits Required	A taxicab driver must display their Taxicab Drivers Permit in the taxi at all times.
Front Loading	Front Loading occurs on a taxicab stand when a taxi driver illegally pulls in front of other taxicabs to load.
High Flagging	High Flagging occurs when a taxi driver transports a passenger without engaging the taximeter.
Long Hauling	The driver is not permitted to take a longer route to the passenger's destination than is necessary, unless specifically requested to do so by the passenger.
Lost Property	All taxicab companies are required to maintain a lost- and-found for items left in cabs. Contact the company directly or the Nevada Taxicab Authority for assistance.
Luggage Charges	Taxicab passengers cannot be charged for the loading/unloading or transporting of their luggage.
 McCarran Airport Tunnel 	Use of the I-215 tunnel from McCarran airport is NEVER the shortest route to any strip hotel.
 Nevada Taxicab Authority 	The Nevada Taxicab Authority is the State agency that regulates the taxicab industry in Clark County, Nevada. Taxicab Authority enforcement personnel are on duty 24 hours per day, 365 day a year. Contact the Dispatch Office if you required assistance (702) 668-4000.
 Number of Passengers Allowed in a Taxicab 	The maximum number of passengers permitted in a Las Vegas taxicab (sedan style) is five.
 Number of Taxicabs 	There are approximately 3,250 vehicles in the Las Vegas taxicab fleet.
Payment Options	Fares must be paid in U.S. currency. Credit Cards are accepted. Passengers paying with credit cards are charged a \$3.00 fee over the meter charge.

• Receipts	A taxicab passenger in Las Vegas must be given a completed receipt if they request one.
• Seatbelts	All passengers must wear a seat belt in a taxicab.
Smoking Policy	Taxicab drivers cannot smoke or use tobacco products if there are passengers in the taxicab.
 Starting a Taxicab Company 	Persons wishing to start a taxicab company within Clark County must make application to the Nevada Taxicab Authority. The initial application packet is available on the Taxicab Authority website at taxi.nv.gov. After completing the application, the applicant(s) must return the original application and nine (9) copies of the application and all exhibits to the Taxicab Authority office to be filed. The filing fee is \$200.00, and is non-refundable.
Tips/Gratuities	Tips or gratuities to taxi drivers in Las Vegas are optional and not required.
Taxicab Companies	Sixteen taxicab companies service the Las Vegas valley.
 Taxicab Color Schemes 	All Las Vegas taxicab companies have specific vehicle color combinations and vehicle numbers.
Taxicab Drivers	There are approximately 10,000 taxicab driver in Las Vegas.
Taxicab Fares	Taxicab passengers can only be charged the amount shown on the taximeter plus any applicable credit card and/or e-hail transaction fees.
Taxi Fare Requirement	It is a crime to enter a Las Vegas taxicab without sufficient funds to pay the fare.
Taxicab Heat and Air Conditioning	Nevada law requires Las Vegas taxicabs to have air conditioning and heat.
Taxicab Route	Taxicab drivers must obey the passenger's directions as it related to route taken.
Taxi TripsConductedAnnually	In 2014, Las Vegas taxicabs completed over 27.6 million trips.